Confidence Diary: Day 1.

So things have spiraled in my personal life and I’m not going to talk about it all on here because I don’t feel like I need to, but my friend sent me a ‘confidence diary’ template to help me feel better about myself. I was wondering if I’d actually bother doing it every day as I can lose interest quickly, but I thought, you know what? I want to keep on with this blog, and I want to do it every day, so why don’t I combine it?

The concept is that you just write about the positive things in your day, what you want to achieve in the day and whether or not you achieved or started it. It’s so simple, but with life’s distractions, it’s incredibly difficult sometimes just to take the time to reflect, and we get stuck in negative ways of thinking. ‘Ergh, just another day at work!’ or ‘Great, more bills to pay!’ or ‘That other driver was so rude!’ or ‘Why is it so difficult for other people to just wash up?’

Having the odd negative thought in itself isn’t an issue, but it’s when the negative components of the day begin to rule the day that it’s an issue. For example, maybe you saw or achieved something cool today, but then a driver cuts in front of you on your way home and you had to hit the brakes unexpectedly. For me personally, the driver is then likely to be the first thing I mention when I get through the door, rather than how good the rest of the day was. So here goes. I’m leaving stuff out as I mentioned at the top because it’s not something I want on here, but have done a separate one regarding those things on Word.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Day 1:

Today I’m excited about: Spending time with my sister and rabbits, lunch with my sister, Writing a blog post, Talking to friends.

Exercises: Some walking with my sister.

Meals: Gammon Steak with egg and chips (I’ve decided to go veggie slowly, but I am a picky eater and don’t like many restaurant veggie choices!), one meal replacement shake, The rest are unplanned.

Main focus: Improving my own mental health and finding a way to get confidence, + eating healthily to gain weight.

Schedule: *I’m leaving this in as an example, but I will write out my own schedule separately. Nobody needs to read what I plan on doing every hour of the day!

8:00 – 9:00 Breakfast and shower
9:00 – 12:00 Chores
12:00 – 13:00 Lunch
13:00 – 14:00 Long walk
14:00 – 16:00 Hobby time
16:00 – 22:00 Dinner and tomorrow’s food prep, hobby time

Goals for the day:

Have 3 meals + 1 shake/ 2 meals, 2 shakes.  **This bit would be to mark off if the goal was achieved
Give my rabbits lots of time to run.  
Tell yourself something positive about yourself.  
Cut hair  
Recognise a negative thought and squash it  
Smile  

Notes: Went to doctors, went to the harvester with Jenny, Gave the buns a better run than last few days – better weather! Replaced one cup of normal tea with a green tea.

Good things about today: Feeling more determined and positive, bunny’s are happier, learnt what a frugivore is. Started confidence journal.

What I’m grateful for: My sister, for taking me to lunch. Cal, for sending me this template. Sherman, for being my best friend.

What I hope for tomorrow: To continue to feel more positive, to stick to this journal, to generally have a positive day.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

So there we go. It’s not going to fix all of my problems, but making if I can begin to make myself happy again, the other problems won’t seem unmanageable. I made some huge decisions last night and this is day 1 of making those choices, and the goals I set for myself in those moments, achievable. I have no idea if this will work long term, but it’s worth a shot and I can see why just taking a minute or two to look for the positive throughout each and every day can make a difference!

Leave a Reply

